Review: Hotel Jen Orchardgateway, Singapore

Another April-weekend-getaway. If you read my previous 22 and counting.. post already, you’d know that this was my 23rd times going to Singapore. You’d think by now that I was bored already, but no, Singapore never cease to amaze me. There’s always new MRT lines, new shopping places, new food to try. So despite all the 23 times I have been there, I’ve never really quite remember the places I visited beside Orchard road. Orchard is like the paradise for shopaholic like me. From luxury boutiques to street-side flea markets, it fits all budget. So whenever we’re in Singapore, staying at Orchard is a must. Even though a couple of years back I got the privileged to stay at Marina Bay Sands, nothing beats the feeling of walking out of the lobby and faced with all the traffic and the bustle. For this latest getaway, we tried the newest hotel in Orchard, Hotel Jen. Opened only late last year, Hotel Jen is located above Orchardgateway (the mall is linked by glass tubular bridge that’s totally instagrammable). It also has an infinity pool overlooking Orchard rd. (what’s better than taking a morning dip and saw those immaculate-white-shirts men from above?) Literally 0 km from Somerset station and 5 minutes-walk to Takashimaya, it’s indeed a really nice hotel to stay at.

The hotel’s lobby is a little bit difficult to find though. If you’re traveling by MRT, follow the sign to Orchardgateway, take the escalator up twice and look for the nearest lift (it is located near the mall entrances (one from the back, one from Somerset-Orchard rd.). The hotel’s lobby is on the tenth floor. Another different lift will take you to the floors above the lobby. There’re 2 restaurants and an on-the-go shop at the tenth floor. The other lift in front of the hotel lobby will take you straight to first floor if the lift (the first one you take to the lobby) is full, or is stopping in too many floors. I suggest taking the lift in front of the lobby as it’s much faster.

The room is spacious and the ambience in nice too. We stayed at the 15th floor, there’s a vending machine and an ice maker near the lift. Upon entering the room, there’s this weird-not-really-that-unpleasant smell, I think it’s emitting from the yellow-colored pillow (that I usually don’t use anyway). And the toilet and the shower are not connecting, so it’s a little bit awkward if you’re staying with friend(s). Our room is facing SingTel building and the room has top-to-floor window, so it’s nice to hear the birds chirping in the morning while looking at the horizon. Despite the weird toilet situation, I’d definitely stay here again in the future. Too bad I didn’t try their restaurant, makan@Jen, the dinner buffet serves seafood which includes super huge lobsters, so it’s worth paying $69.00++ for the dinner buffet.  

I forgot to see the pool though, I only went to the gym on the 19th floor. The pool was booked for a party so I couldn’t see it on our last night. Next time we’re here, I’ll definitely use the pool.

277 Orchard Road, Singapore 238858 
+65 6708 8888

xoxo

Leave a Reply

